palexrs

A journey of purpose. One gal's search for a balanced life .

Consistency & Shifting towards Internal Motivation

I tend towards verbose. The dialogue is often intra-cranium. More often than not I find myself weighed down with too many thoughts, excuses, and I rationalize my way out of experiencing life or applying my efforts towards what I’d really like out of life. In a couple of months I’ll be 30, and I’d like to put an end to this nonsense.

You know the story: teenage/young adult angst and insecurity leads to maladaptive coping mechanisms which translate into bad habits which stick. Such is my yo-yo struggle with food & exercise. Once in awhile I’ll get wild hair across my ass and “adopt a lifestyle change” (Crossfit, Paleo diet, Eat-to-live diet, Bikram and power yoga, random bouts of the gym rat thang, etc.). Then I’ll swing back to my baseline, get lazy, and direct my intensity towards things other than a healthy lifestyle. I need to address consistency.

Having been around the block a few times now, I believe that an influence in this lack of consistency is where my motivation is coming from. I’ve historically relied on external motivation, primarily: what I think I should look like & the search for relationships that will assist my efforts. Apparently, these personal observations are also empirically supported by a coupla U.of Rochester psych researchers, Edward Deci and Richard Ryan. They wrote a book on human motivation, and the cliff-notes version can be found here: http://www.selfdeterminationtheory.org/.

The ever-articulate Ben Stein said that “the indispensable first step to getting the things you want out of life is this: decide what you want.” I want to exist peacefully, wholly and in-balance with regards to my mind, body, heart and spirit. In regards to my fitness/health goals:

  1. Step one: I want to optimize my fitness and health.
  2. Step two: Redirect motivation (from external to internal/intrinsic) & commit to consistency. 

I think that’s a pretty good start.  

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 14, 2013 by in Fitness, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , .

Navigation

