palexrs

A journey of purpose. One gal's search for a balanced life .

Farm fresh produce

Today was a scorcher in Philly (>100F). Despite this clear and present danger ๐Ÿ™‚ I joined the kind folks at Weaver’s Way Community Programs in harvesting produce from the farm and then selling it at their farmstand.

image

If you have a chance, check out their programming for underserved populations in Philly. Much of this bounty comes from Hope garden at Stenton Manor (2nd largest emergency homeless shelter for families in Philly). What is not sold at farmstand is donated to the kitchen at Stenton Manor. WWCP does good work!

At the end of this crazy hot day the farm educator gave me some cucumbers and beets for helping out. I love free veggies!!

image

After such a draining day I was starved, but the idea of eating anything hot made me want to pass out. A patron at the farmstand gave me the idea for cucumber soup, so here is what I came up with!

Cucumber-Yogurt-Chive Soup (chilled)
-2 large cucumbers, peeled, seeded, chopped
-1/2 medium vidalia onion, chopped
-1 lemon, juiced
-10 chives, chopped
-2 cups yogurt (I used non-fat plain greek yogurt)
-salt & pepper, to taste

Blend all ingredients together. I used a pitcher and my immersion blender, but a standard blender is perfect, too. Yields 4 servings.

So easy. So delish. Super refreshing.

image

For dinner I also added 4 oz of chilled chicken breast and a 1/2 cup of that kale/quinoa salad I’d made earlier in the week.

image

I’m definitely going to make this the next time we have company for an appetizer. If you add anything different please let me know, cos I’d love to try variations :)!

2 comments on “Farm fresh produce

  1. Elizabeth
    July 17, 2013

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2013 by in Garden party, Good eats and tagged , , , , , , , .
