palexrs

A journey of purpose. One gal's search for a balanced life .

1st week of my fitness journey in the bag

Things I’ve learned in the last week of workouts (6 days in a row, woot woot!):

  • Need a HR monitor and an armband for my phone. The HR monitors on gym equipment are pesky and I rely too heavily on my phone to be dropping it all the time at the gym.
  • Preparation, preparation, preparation. Gym bag, food, clean workout clothes (silly, but seriously).
  • I am able to talk myself out of a workout pretty easily. Prefer 1st thing in the AM, but if not feasible there are plenty of at-home options (like today). Also, if short on time, there’s HIIT. There are very few valid excuses, in reality.

Today I tried the 1st HIIT workout from my previous post (see here). Thanks, Genevieve!! I will be coming back to this one again to improve my time. Body weight stuff is always a challenge for me as I’m heavy, but I’ve got to start somewhere! Also, I’m still sticking to that Level 1 Crossfit challenge by Shanti (found here), today was day 6.

WOD 1: 2 rounds, 60 sec rest between, Total time=19:45

  • Jumping Jacks, 30 sec
  • Wall sit, 30 sec
  • Pushups, 20
  • Crunches, 40
  • Stepups, 30 sec
  • Air squats, 30
  • Tricep dips, 25* (these were difficult for me)
  • Plank, 30 sec
  • High knees, 30 sec
  • Lunges, 15/side
  • Pushups, 20
  • Jumping Jacks, 30 sec

WOD 2: Total time=1:43

  • 50 Jumping Jacks, 25 Air squats, 20 Pushups

I did this in the comfort of my living room. Bonus: no equipment needed, and it’s a very short trip to an after workout meal :). I made a stir fry with brussel sprouts, baby bok choy, chicken breast, garlic/onions. Instead of oil I used veggie broth, and the chicken was pre-cooked so the whole thing took ~7 min to prepare.
image
I’m proud of myself for sticking to this healthy change for a solid week. When I tried to talk myself out of my workouts, I re-read my 1st post…my motivation is internal/intrinsic, I am accountable to me. Tomorrow is a much deserved “rest day,” but I’m planning on going dancing with some friends. Going to skip the EtOH, cos that’s counter-productive at this point in my journey, but I’m looking forward to getting dressed up!!

Have a happy weekend, all 🙂

2 comments on “1st week of my fitness journey in the bag

  1. g.m.beloin
    July 19, 2013

    So glad you found my entry helpful, I’m excited to see what sort of results you get along your journey, I will be following along! 🙂

    • palexrs
      July 19, 2013

      Thank you! After a month I will post results :). I appreciate the support!

Leave a Reply

