palexrs

A journey of purpose. One gal's search for a balanced life .

Breaking up with my scale

I did something pretty stupid. I weighed myself a few days ago, and have been obsessively checking the scale since. And now I feel terrible.

For the most part I’ve been sticking to my diet, and definitely to the exercise portion. So what is the harm in seeing what my results after 2 weeks have been, right?

The thing is that weight is not a good indicator of progress on a daily basis. It fluctuates too much over the course of a day. And this early on in the process my efforts should not be focused on those numbers. Monthly weigh-ins are healthy, not every day.

Spoiler alert: I’m about to get deep here. Tune out if you’re not into that.

One of the reasons which I liked the Crossfit community so much was that there was a focus on health and not image. As a society we are so focused on what we look like, and we’ve gotten away from what is healthy. A fit, toned body is healthy. But from my experience that image of health is unsustainable if my personal motivation lies strictly in what I look like. I’ve got a warped relationship with weight, as I’ve struggled with bulimia for 1/2 of my life. It is not healthy for me to focus on that image. In order for me to achieve optimal health I need to focus on the effects which a healthy lifestyle gives me (i.e. better sleep/cognition/sex, less moody). The fit, toned body may be the result of those efforts, but it should not be my focus.

That being said, I’m breaking up with my scale. I’ve asked my husband to hide it. Once a month I will weigh myself and take measurements. One month from today, because I don’t want to be anxiously counting down the days until I have to face my ex.

Also, to be perfectly honest, I need to get on track with my eating habits as well. For the most part I’ve been good, but I’ve had way too many cravings and need to cut back on the “cheats.” It’s detox time. For reals. I’m going to start the Whole30 challenge tomorrow.

To go back to my original purpose: be a healthier, more balanced person. I’ve got to get my head back in the game.

2 comments on “Breaking up with my scale

  1. Casie
    July 28, 2013

    Yeah weighing yourself often is always a bad idea. I used to do that when I started my diet. I’ve learned that weigh-ins once in awhile is best to keep on track. Great job on your diet!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 28, 2013 by in Inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
