palexrs

A journey of purpose. One gal's search for a balanced life .

End of week 3: Rest days are necessary

This past week was very busy. Started my new clinical rotation (Family Medicine), and the pace is quick with long hours. Given that I began the week dehydrated & worn out from that stomach bug, it was a steep transition. But I think it went pretty well for my 1st week! I’ve got 7 more of these, and my preceptor said he’d be ramping up the responsibility next week so I’m excited :).

*Side note: It is insane how much primary care providers do & need to know to practice compassionately & intelligently. I know that’s the area I want to go into, but I have so much studying to do it’s unreal.

I had this big plan going into the week: Be 100% present/ready to learn/absorb like a sponge at work, stick hardcore to my new food, and get to the gym at least 4 days. Well, 2 out of 3 ain’t bad…

Work was great. I love primary care, and my preceptor is great. I stuck to my diet all week (even avoided the pizza, donuts, birthday cake, sticky buns, sandwiches that were brought in by staff, patients, and pharm reps). Got myself to the gym Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday for some pretty intense sessions. By Friday I was honestly so damned tired that I just went home and passed out (at 7pm).  

Then I took yesterday and today off. I would feel guilty, except what the hell is the point? It felt good to catch up on housework, gardening, and get a bunch of schoolwork done. I went food shopping & did meal prep. I even got to the TJMaxx & found a great dress for work on clearance for $20! I got to catch up with some friends & family (via phone & Skype). And I went on a date with Sam :).

Simply put, it was a lovely weekend & I needed it.

To harken back to last week’s reflection, I am not going to beat myself up for taking time. I needed the physical & mental rest days, and I’m ready to start back up tomorrow. My fitness goals this week are:

  1. Eat clean Monday through Saturday. I would really like to get brunch next weekend.
  2. Make it to the gym Monday through Thursday.
  3. Get to Bikram yoga on Friday. I’ve realized that I need to work on my mobility more. This should be interesting (it’s been 7 years since I last went to Bikram) :).

Have a great rest-of-the-weekend!

 

 

4 comments on “End of week 3: Rest days are necessary

  1. ubuwan
    August 5, 2013

    I’m doing Bikram again too this week for the first time in a long while. Enjoy your class!

  2. Sumner Stone
    August 6, 2013

    Doing great Baby! keep up the good work and remember- Thumbs up for rock and roll!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 4, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
