palexrs

A journey of purpose. One gal's search for a balanced life .

Survived my “first” Bikram class

90 min in a 105° room. 24 hatha asanas. 2 towels. Lots of sweat.

So many people have told me about Bikram yoga in Manayunk & I have to agree. The space is great and the instructor was energetic & kind (Annie was there this morning).

For all intents & purposes it was my 1st time. It’s been 7 years since I last practiced Bikram yoga. Back then I was going 3 or 4 times a week & loved it. Bought & sat on the Groupon for 2 weeks. But now I’m so happy I went :).

Some points I knew from my previous experience, which weren’t advertised:
1. Show up 15-20 min before class to acclimate to the heat/humidity in the room.
2. DON’T eat anything 2-3 hrs before class (maybe a banana).
3. You may feel dizzy/nauseous. Breathe. Take a break and go into corpse or child’s pose. Try to stay in the room.
4. Bring your mat, a large towel to put on the mat, a sweat towel, a large water bottle, & a snack for afterwards.

I love yoga. Don’t know why I’ve not incorporated it sooner into my exercise routine. Regular practice makes me feel more connected to my body, & that’s what I sorely needed today.

Now for a productive afternoon so that I may have a fun evening out for a friend’s birthday :).

Take care!

2 comments on “Survived my “first” Bikram class

  1. Liz
    August 21, 2013

    I like yoga, but can’t handle the heat. I had to leave the room when it was just a warm class, not even a hot one! I bet it feels amazing when you’re done, though.

    • palexrs
      August 21, 2013

      It does feel good (once you rehydrate :)!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 17, 2013 by in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , .
